Astrology Qualities
Cardinal, Fixed, Mutable

Horoscopes and the signs of the Zodiac are divided into four elements - Fire, Water, Earth and Air but Astrologers also categorize them in to three astrology qualities - Cardinal, Fixed, and Mutable. These astrology qualities help to further describe and give an indication of the major characteristics of the Zodiac signs and assist Astrologers to provide fuller horoscopes.

The Cardinal Signs

The four Cardinal signs are Aries from the element of Fire, Cancer from the element of Water, Libra from the element of Air, and Capricorn from the element of Earth. The Cardinal signs indicate action, initiation and assertiveness. All four Cardinal signs like to initiate and control their lives and their surroundings.

Cardinal, of course means first and the four Cardinal signs are the first signs that commence the seasons of Spring, Summer, Autumn (Fall) and Winter. Although very different characteristics represent the signs of Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn they do have things in common, virtue to the fact that they share the Cardinal quality. They all like to take the lead, are ambitious, creative and spontaneous.

The Fixed Signs

The four Fixed signs are Taurus from the element of Earth, Leo from the element of Fire, Scorpio from the element of Water, and Aquarius from the element of Air. The Fixed signs indicate stability, reliability and patience. All four Fixed signs of Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius share similar traits and can be stable, dependable, patient and loyal.

The Fixed signs continue what has been commenced and because they are in the middle of each season tend to be more settled and secure than the Cardinal and Mutable signs.

The Mutable Signs

The four Mutable signs are Gemini from the element of Air, Virgo from the element of Earth, Sagittarius from the element of Fire, and Pisces from the element of Water. The Mutable Signs indicate flexibility, adaptability and good communication.

The Mutable signs come at the end of each season and as such are more welcoming of change and have an adaptable and flexible attitude.

The Mutable signs of Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces share similar traits of reinvention, acceptance of change and resourceful.